Uni Horse Tractor

Home Forums The Main Forum Area Projects Uni Horse Tractor

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    chrisr
    Participant

I am just about to start a renovation of a Uni Horse tractor BSA engine c1967 – is there anyone out with a similar experience / tips etc. Thanks Chris

ssorthiek
    Participant

Is this your first attempt at restoration or are you an old hand at restoring old equipment?

chrisr
    Participant

first time really for a restoration, although i have some mechanical knowledge

ssorthiek
    Participant

Restoration is relatively new to me as well. You will see the results of my Coleby restoration below.
    There a a couple of bits of advice I can give. Take plenty of photos is one of the most important things you can do before, during and after disassembly. I’ll be doing quite a bit of that tonight on my new project. The other thing is, when you take something apart, make sure you understand how it works and try and work out why it was designed a particular way. If you do this, when you reassemble you will understand how it works and have more chance of getting it together first time.

Keep your working area reasonably tidy. I’m not sure what your set up is, but I started off with a make shift bench with a very cheap and chearful drill vice, a dark badly lit garage, a bench pillar drill on the floor and so forth, none of which is conducive to a good restoration project. I have now a decent bench, good lighting, a small bench vice and quite a bit of other equipment, lathe, mill and so forth, much more comfortable and easier to work.

You will work out your own methods for releasing seized nuts and bots, but plenty of WD40, PlusGas normally suffices, with a good heat gun for the more difficult to remove fixings.