Original Howard Rotavator Sale Price UK

Home Forums The Main Forum Area General talk and discussion Original Howard Rotavator Sale Price UK

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    vhgmcbuddy

Hi all, just wondered if anyone had an original price list for a Howard Yoeman. I’m sure I’ve seen it somewhere but I can’t find the bugger now I need it to settle a discussion with a mate.

alan
    Participant

The only image I have is an advert for March 1956. Basic price £157.10.0.

Attachments:
    charlie
    Keymaster

According to ’70 Years of Garden Machinery’ by Brian Bell, the Yeoman was introduced in 1954 and cost £135.

vhgmcbuddy

Thankyou so much. It wasn’t exactly a cheap machine when new then.

I’ve been working on one that had been left outside for about 10 years. No spark, no fuel, carb had about 1/2″ of rust in the float bowl. Cleaned up carb fuel tank tap and set points and new condenser new condenser. I have a spark, it started first pull! It runs and will move under its own steam, but the clutch isn’t working (I’ve had the cables off and greased them) Looks like clutch is seized on. Any ideas short of getting oily?

jwilkes
    Participant

Hi I have stripped and rebuilt a Yeoman – though I had to replace the Engine as I could not get it to move with 2 tonnes on the piston. The clutch is straightforward single plate on the hearbox, a spider spins the outside attached to the engine.

Support the Engine, undo the nuts and pull to get at the clutch.

Once out you should be able to get at the mechanism and some simple push and pull might get things moving again.

If you are forced to remove the clutch things get complex ad I remember making a tool to unscrew the Nut off the Gearbox input – Still have it somewhere if you get that far.