Howard 300 rotovator

Home Forums The Machinery Forums Pedestrian operated machines Howard 300 rotovator

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    vhgmcbuddy

What’s the operating instructions for these 300’s? How does the gears work when there isn’t any clutch? Help please.

vhgmcbuddy

Hi, it’s got a clutch. It’s operated with a lever and cable, if not used for some time it’s probably seized. Hopefully it’s just the cable. heres a diagram.

Attachments:
    vhgmcbuddy

Hi Owen
    That picture is like the howard 350 but this 300 I have isn’t set up like that. I would say it was set up more like the merry tiller where you pull the lever which puts tension on the belt to make work.

stuart
    Participant

Im sure the model you have Junior is a Dowdeswell 352.Early models had a 5hp B&S engine whilst later ones used the MAG/KUBOTA engine.

wristpin
    Participant

I’m no Howard expert but the clutch illustrated has the ball bearing thrust race to disengage it, so doesn’t that make it a 350? Didn’t all? the earlier 300 machines had the “fibre washer” thrust? Also, didn’t the Dowdswell 352 just have a simple fast and loose belt drive engagement/disengagement system – or was that the Dragon?

vhgmcbuddy

Sorry for the confusion Junior. Howard 300 with a Briggs engine had the friction disc clutch fitted to machine serial No 643. It was then replaced by a improved friction disc clutch. Later the cone type was used. All this of no use, as previously mentioned you probably got a 352.

vhgmcbuddy