Coleby Junior Restoration

Home Forums The Main Forum Area Projects Coleby Junior Restoration

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    ssorthiek
    Participant

I am new to VHGMC but now have an increasing interest in Coleby Cultivators. I am currently restoring one and have recently purchased another from a gentleman in Kent which I need to pick up.

I have recently added to a post to a topic that started about 4 years ago, but it has been suggested that I start a new topic covering the restoration.

The reason for the interest is my Grandfather purchased Coleby Cultivators Ltd when Fredrick Coleby sold the business. Having worked for Fredrick Coleby my Grandfather clearly saw a business opportunity.

Very little is known about the company or the machines within our family but several people have been good enough to share some snippets of information.

During the restoration project, some of the tools that were originally used to manufacture the Coleby will be used. I have my Grandfathers original tool box. We also have the share certificates for Coleby and various other bits and pieces.

The Coleby Junior I am trying to restore hasn’t got any of the attachments and I would be delighted to hear from anyone with any attachments for the Coleby Junior or any information about the company, Fredrick Coleby or indeed my Grandfather Sidney Ross.

There are a number of photos from 1948 which may be of interest which I have added. If anyone can identify the gentlemen in the photos, it would be very much appreciated (I know one of them).

I hope this will be of interest and look forward to any correspondence.

Attachments:
    andyfrost
    Participant

Very best for your restoration , what engine are your machines fitted with…JAP4/3 , or Villiers 25A.

Andy.

ssorthiek
    Participant