Old Flymo assistance sought

Home Forums General Help and information Old Flymo assistance sought

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    vhgmcbuddy

Hi there I’m just a newbie to this forum so go gently. I have an old Flymo hover mower and it has just stopped working and I’d like to know if I can get any advice on troubleshooting the problem? It’s been a stalwart of a machine,I can’t fault it and it owes me nothing, I’ve tried replacing the cabling to no avail. I have a picture of myself and son next to the machine when he was about 6..he’s 36 now!! I’ve tried troubleshooting this however I don’t know how to test the capacitor or carbon brushes or for that point the actual motor. This would appear to be the 3 areas that has the problem. I can bypass the microswitch. When I perform continuity testing everything seems fine, however I’m no expert. When I press the on/off switch it trips the CB in my electrical box. All other appliances work fine from the same circuit. IT’s a great machine and I’d rather replace the parts than buy another machine if possible. Any advice and assistance would be appreciated before I send my old friend to the scrapyard.. Pictures can be supplied. thanks in advance JD

charlie
    Keymaster

I am not an electrical expert but if the circuit breaker is tripping this would indicate an electrical fault, either short circuit or contact somewhere due to damaged insulation possibly. Have you given everything a good clean to ensure it is not a build up of dirt and dust causing the problem? Have you tried looking for a circuit diagram online?

vhgmcbuddy